Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist, 2023

Check out what books are nominated before the winner is chosen

Devette Lindsay
3 min readMay 3, 2023
Photo by Ariel on Unsplash

Even though I don’t follow literary prizes closely, I do enjoy watching booktubers organize their lives in order to read as many books on the longlist and shortlist respectively, before the official nominees are announced. I look forward to all of the related chatter-the reviews, discussions, and debates from passionate readers who feel strongly about who should be acknowledged and who should be ignored. It feels like the Oscars but for books.

This year, I don’t plan to read any of the nominated books on the shortlist before the winner is announced in June. Next year, however, I hope to do so with a reading buddy. In preparation, I’ve decided to look into what the Women’s Prize for Fiction is and how its nominees are chosen.

What is the Women’s Prize for Fiction?

Each year, a panel of judges consisting of literary experts is appointed to determine the winner of this prestigious honor. The prize recognizes excellence and originality in writing by women, and aims to shine a light on women writers and their works in a literary landscape that traditionally has been long dominated by male writers.

--

--

Devette Lindsay

I'm a book reviewer and aspiring author dedicated to building a community by sharing my love for books and offering tips for new writers and creatives.