Creativity Tip: Be Seen Trying

Perfectionism hinders growth; do your thing!

Daye Lindsay
4 min readSep 21, 2024

--

Photo by John Oswald on Unsplash

Being Less than Perfect is Hard

Most of us invest precious time in learning skills we want to master, whether speaking a foreign language, writing a novel, or improving our tennis game. Unfortunately, once we realize mastery requires interaction and feedback, we often dishonor the time we’ve invested by giving up or postponing our efforts to a future date that may never come.

I can accept failure. Everyone fails at something. But I can’t accept not trying. ― Michael Jordan

Nobody Wants to Look Foolish

As an amateur 3D cake maker, I struggled for years with not wanting to be seen trying. I enjoyed baking custom cakes resembling objects or characters my friends and family admired. Still, I often treated it like a terrible secret because I didn’t want others to expect too much from me. I didn’t want to admit that I didn’t know how or if I could employ some of the necessary techniques to make a ‘perfect” cake design.

Also, hours before presenting the cake to my loved one, I would start to worry. I would obsess over tiny details no one else would notice and lament techniques that I hoped would work but failed. Small details the recipient wouldn’t notice…

--

--

Daye Lindsay

I'm a book reviewer and aspiring author dedicated to building a community by sharing my love for books and offering tips for new writers and creatives.